Moving on

5 04 2012

Another 4 months has flown by, and I’m onto the last job of my FY1 year.

Started work in August on a ridiculously busy medical job, where I felt I never left the hospital, and certainly never separated from it mentally. But I worked with some great people, noone in the hospital is ever as good a friend to you as “med reg”, especially when they’re your own. Even after I finished on medicine, those links were what saw me through much of job number 2. I learnt loads, had to make decisions, and am definitely a better doctor (if not person!) because of my experiences.

Fast forward to Christmas and started on surgery with a little bit of apprehension. Lets face it, I’m not exactly typical surgery fodder, rarely cope well with *ahem* aggressive personalities, and whilst theatre is often hilarious, I’ve never really been into being the one actually cutting people up. But seems I lucked out. Fab bosses, hilarious registrars, great SHOs, and a wonderful bunch of assorted others. Life got left a bit by the wayside somewhere along the way, and suspect I have quite a bit of making up to do with the boy in the coming months. When the job was good, it was incredible. When it was bad… well…. I’m just glad the people around me provided the compassion, support and/or giggles neccessary to get through.

So now I’m just starting psychiatry. I’ve always had a bit of a soft spot for the subject, even ran a book club for a while with a strong psychiatric focus to the books we chose, and was quite keen for an F1 job involving it. 2 days of induction was gruelling though, so looking forward to getting stuck in for real after a wonderfully work-free weekend!

J

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

